The Birth of An Obsession

I will admit, if someone would have asked me before the birth of my son if I liked photography, I would have said no. I never thought about photography until someone took my photo and even then, I only wanted to make sure I looked ok in it if it was going to be tagged in Facebook.   All that changed, however, a couple of months before my due date. I was browsing on Facebook one night and came across someone who posted their child’s newborn photos taken by a professional photographer. I was stunned at how beautiful they were and immediately knew that I HAD to have professional photos taken too. I would spend hours looking, ok, stalking, photographers’ websites and blogs looking for ideas and writing down the ones that I wanted to incorporate for my own personal baby photo collection.   I called my mom and sister and told them that all the cool new parents were having these stunning newborn photos taken and so, obviously, I had to have them too.

All I can say is that I have the best sister in the world.  She always goes above and beyond the call of sisterhood duty and this time she arranged for one of her best friends, a professional photographer who specializes in weddings in FL, to take some newborn photos.  Three weeks after Bugaboo was born, we made the trek to FL. I had done months of homework and knew what I wanted and had come prepared. I wrote down several types of different poses and shots that I liked and wanted Alison, http://alisonbeyerphotography.com, to try to capture. And capture she did! They turned out AMAZING if I say so myself! She did everything that I had asked and more. I cannot thank her enough for the timeless images she gave to me.  I teared up the moment I saw Bugaboo’s preview photo. She edited out Man-child’s shirt so just a complete black background and that is the photo that is blown up and displayed proudly in my living room.

 

Here is another photo that I adore. I love baby feet and asked her to take some photos of just his feet for me. To this day, I am still in love with his pudgy toes and feet.

The above photos and the several other photos from that session were pretty much the birth of my now obsession with photography. I knew that we would not be able to afford to have professional photos taken every year or at important milestones; so I set out to learn everything that I could about photography, especially lifestyle photography, and attempt to create “the look for less.”  I have read countless books, magazines, websites, blogs, and forums on the subject and have completed a photography class and workshop. I still have A LOT to learn about the field, especially the editing side, but the thrill of capturing a timeless moment is priceless. It encourages me to keep going and improve my limited skills. My dream is to one day be able to purchase the more expensive lenses that I drool and lust over and make photography a side business but that will not be happening anytime soon. So, until the timing is right, I will continue to pursue my obsession with photography and keep taking countless numbers of photos! Well, that is my intention, anyway. I was supposed to be taking a photo a day and that lasted all of two weeks in January… it is my resolution and intention to be more diligent in that endeavor.

I will leave you guys with a couple of my favorite photos that I took awhile back and am quite proud of considering my limited experience. It was hard to narrow these down to only a few but here some that have made it to the “frame worthy awards.”

 

My attempt at Bugaboo’s “First Year Portraits” The everyday pose

(A little too much editing perhaps but I swear, his eyes really are bright blue!) 🙂

Another “First Year Portrait” The serious pose

Finally… Little boys and their imagination… gotta love it!

Have a great Tuesday!

This entry was posted in Photography and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to The Birth of An Obsession

  1. I love your blog. It is very enjoyable to read and makes me laugh. I am glad that I was able to help fuel your photography passion. Keep up the good work.

    • Thanks big sis for the comment!! Next time, I will make sure that I log out of wordpress on your computer before leaving so it doesn’t look like I am posting comments about myself! 🙂 Love you!

  2. Barb says:

    I love the photos…you are doing a fantastic job for an amateur. Just goes to show you never know what will spark a potential natural talent!

  3. NanaBread says:

    Ohhhh….just when I thought it couldn’t get cuter than your blog header photo. Bugaboo is a cutie patootie. Love the photos. All of them. Thanks for sharing!

    • Glad you enjoyed them. I think he is a cutie patootie too and the bad thing is that he knows it! He has become quite a Ham lately. If he is not the center of attention, then he is not happy. Thanks for the comment, means alot!

  4. mommygems says:

    OMG! I’m liking your every post! 🙂 Kinda addicted reading each one of them. Your Bugaboo is the cutest, I love his eyes and his blond hair. I’m thinking dye my children’s hair and get blue contacts for them! lol

Leave a Reply

