A Wicked Workout Part I of II

Before I splurge on all the details of this amazing workout, here is a little background on my resolution to lose weight and how I ended up fighting back on failure, literally. This will be a two-part post since it is excessively long for one, and my lunch break at work is almost over.  

I have always struggled with my weight growing up. I do not remember a time in my life when I was not on some sort of “diet” or trying to start a new exercise regimen guaranteed to get me in shape. Well, in college, I was determined to get in shape once and for all. I will admit that I did not lose weight the healthiest way but at that point, I did not care. I just wanted the weight off. I joined a local weight loss program that promoted a liquid diet shake plan along with diet pills. For a long time, I rarely ate any solid food and just drank these shakes and took diet pills so I would not be hungry. The weight came off and I started working out at the gym twice a day like a maniac. The way my schedule was with classes, I was able to keep up with the workout twice a day until I graduated.

Then, after graduation, I entered the working field, and it seemed that the more I worked the more I became tired at the end of each day and started to make excuses for not going to the gym. I stopped taking the diet pills and stopped drinking the diet shakes because I missed food and the diet program was not exactly cheap. I also began eating lunch out more during the week and exercised less and less. Just as fast, as the weight came off, it started coming back on. Shortly after I started gaining the weight back, I discovered that I was pregnant. I was sick almost everyday and was completely miserable; what little exercise that I had been doing up to that point stopped completely. I had no energy anymore to go to the gym. All I did was eat. It seemed like I did not eat for one, two, or even three, but instead, ate for about eight. Well, a beautiful healthy baby boy and sixty-five pounds later, here I am! Anyway, I thought the weight would fall off immediately since I was breastfeeding. Wrong! I am pretty sure eating healthy and exercising regularly plays a role in weight loss after pregnancy as well but I failed to implement either of those. Needless to say, the rest of 2009 was spent wishing and talking about weight loss but never any action behind my words.  

My first New Year’s resolution for 2010 was to lose weight and get back in somewhat shape by Bugaboo’s first birthday in May. I did lose about ten pounds but for some reason, instead of motivation to keep going, I stopped working out and stopped watching what I ate. The weight quickly came back on plus a few more. I was famous for saying during the week that I was going to wait until Monday to start my diet back up. Monday would roll around, and I would put it off again until the following Monday. Several months’ worth of Mondays later and Bugaboo’s first birthday came and went.  My weight had not budged, but more like bulged over my pants. I made another goal to lose weight by football season and yep, you guessed it that, too, was another failure.

Naturally, at the beginning of the 2011 year, I made another resolution to work out more and get back to pre baby shape. Again, that lasted all about two weeks before I started skipping days at my local gym. I quickly became discouraged and gave up. I was tired of being unhealthy and overweight but more than that, I was frustrated at myself for always giving up and never finishing what I started.  I am the worlds worst when it comes to setting goals because I give up so easily or at the first sign of trouble.

At the end of January, Man-Child approached me about coming to workout at the gym he went to, but I wanted nothing to do with it at first. He worked out at a mixed martial arts gym and I had no desire to learn jiu-jitsu, grappling, or judo. He kept insisting that was not the only thing they did and that they offered a woman’s kickboxing class too. He had seen women come out of the class with positive results, and he thought that I should try it. I do not know how many times I turned him down until he told me that the instructor, Man-Child’s friend, was teaching the beginner’s women kickboxing class and had told him that he wanted me to come up there and take his class. He wanted me to be his “project”. Doesn’t that just sound oh so wonderful? Someone wanted me to be his “project.” It sounded more like a charity case to me, but what the heck, I had nothing more to lose at this point.

I can proudly say that almost two months later, fifteen pounds lighter, and several inches smaller, I am still hanging in there. I LOVE KICKBOXING! I never thought I would be saying that, but it is true. It has changed the way I view exercise and working out. It has raised my confidence level and made me feel better about myself. I never thought that I would be able to hang in there and keep up with all the young college girls. I was and still am the largest woman in the class and although there are a few exercises that I am still unable to do, push ups on my knuckles, I have not let that stop me. Man-Child bought me a pair of gloves for Valentine’s Day, romantic I know, but I actually look forward to putting them on four days a week. The other days of the week I try to walk/jog for at least thirty minutes for my cardio but that is still a work in progress. You didn’t think I would ship-shape up and change my procrastinating ways that fast, did you? One exercise at a time, please! 🙂

Tomorrow I will share with you a little on how the class runs and what makes it so WICKED, as in wickedly exciting! Ok, so I’m not good at forced attempts at humor. Bear with me.

Have a wonderful Wednesday!

This entry was posted in Healthy Lifestyle Changes, Resolutions and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Wicked Workout Part I of II

  1. Barb says:

    Keep up the great work…your determination to complete what you start, photograph to your heart’s content, and encourage others through your blog! 🙂

  2. Dianna says:

    Good for you! I know nothing about kickboxing, but whatever works!

    I was walking every morning for 30 minutes, skipping only days that it was raining. But circumstances (travel, snow, sickness) happened in December and January, and although I’ve walked many mornings since then, it certainly isn’t everyday. And I really miss it.

    So – maybe you’ve inspired me! Maybe tomorrow morning, I’ll be out early going for my walk. But it’s supposed to rain…. 😉

Leave a Reply

