A Wicked Workout- Part II of II

Kickboxing.  Here is a run down on the workout. It works. All I can say. My abs and sides are still sore from this week! I have been told a lot recently that I have quite the right punch and hook. There is a lot of power behind these guns! 🙂 Ok, so now I have a big head about it. Even if they just told me that to motivate me regardless of whether it is true or not, I don’t know or care. It worked.

We start the class off with a shadowboxing warm-up. It consists of moving feet around and holding arms and hands up in fighting position for five minutes. Every so often, you throw a left right combination into the air, throw up a knee, or do a quick sprawl on the ground(flop yourself on the ground and jump back up, maybe not so much flopping but you hit the ground and perhaps every once in a while I do appear to be flopping). I think we look silly doing this for five minutes but have learned to laugh it off. I even think it is funny when one of the other girls next to me looks over at where the guys are grappling in their own class and mumble that they hope none of them is watching us. Ah… To be young and single again…

After our warm-up, we usually focus on abs or legs for a bit. Some of the exercises that they come up with are pure torture and if you do not believe me, just listen to some of the names of these things.

  1. Monkey squats- put hands under feet spread shoulder width apart and then squat say for oh, five minutes with thirty second breaks here and there. The tops of your upper thighs will be on fire not for one but for about three days.
  2. Ok, so I cannot really remember the names of the other exercises but we do abs exercises where we lay on the floor with feet up in the air. The instructor, let us call him The Fighter(he was actually on a reality fighting show on MTV hosted by some rapper awhile back), yells out 12o’clock, 3o’clock, 6o’clock, or 9o’clock. We are then to quickly as possible turn to that position without feet touching the floor. After a couple of minutes of that, you cannot feel your neck or abs but you will feel them the next day, the next day, and the next day. Trust me on this, I know.

Needless to say, there are several types of exercises that they have us do that will make even the most in shape person moan or grumble under their breath. The fact that I can actually do some of these exercises let alone come back on my own accord to do them again, speaks volumes. The truth of the matter is they work. I have toned up a lot since starting the class and even though I have a long, long, long way to go, I see enough results to understand that it is working and know that if I just hang in there, then I will get back to where I want to be.

Once we do some exercises, we work on punching or kicking techniques. We work on a bag or with a partner. This is my favorite part of the class. This is where I get to take out any frustration or stress that builds up during the day or weekend, and let it go. There have even been a couple of times during class that I have thrown some harder than normal punches laughing that the bag was Man-Child (hey, don’t hate, The Fighter is the one who told me to think of the bag as Man-Child, not me!). The next morning I would ask Man-Child if he had a headache. He responded no and wanted to know why I asked. I just casually say, darn, guess next time I have to hit the bag even harder. He did not get it but I thought it was pretty funny. My goal was to hit the bag so hard that he would feel it too… However, it did not work out that way, lucky for him. 🙂

Back to the wicked workout, (I love saying that, wicked workout, wicked workout, wicked workout ok, enough, sorry) after our punching or kicking exercise, we then do another gruesome exercise of some sort. Sometimes we even complete a circuit training where we rotate doing several torturous exercises or do a series of squats, lunges, or wall kicks (have to see it to believe it). Every once in a while if we grumble or complain, The Fighter adds a bonus workout round. We rarely grumble or complain again. 🙂  I’m not going to lie, the class is very challenging but never too much to where it is impossible to complete. I always leave class drenched in sweat (literally drenched) and downright exhausted although still excited to come back the next evening.

 If you are ever interested in losing weight, getting back in shape, or just maintain your already in shape physique, I highly recommend signing up for a kickboxing class. Like most things, it is more effective if come on a regular basis but if you come and put your all into it, then you will see results.  Basically, I’m saying that if I can do it, anyone can do it. The best part of the class to me is that I enjoy it. I want to come back each week. If a workout class can make me feel that way, then maybe, just maybe, I can believe that this is it for me. This is the time in my life when I fight back and I win the battle that I have fought for years, overcoming my fear of failure. When I overcome my fear of failing, then hopefully my confidence will continue to build and I can carry that confidence over to other areas of my life that need some attention.  Maybe I can carry out my resolutions or follow through on the things I say I will do because I know that I can do it. This is still MY year and I understand that if I want there to be changes in my life, then I have to be the one to take control and make it happen. This is me making it happen. To exercise more is one resolution that I am now proud to say that I am on track and intend to stay on track. I still need to incorporate eating healthy and eating smaller portions on a more regular basis but that is another resolution and post for another day. Today I am going to be excited for myself and my accomplishments and relish in the fact that I am one day closer to fitting back into my skinny jeans! (For the record, the photo of me in the about page…my face is thinner now…woo hoo yah baby!!)

Be strong and hang in there, tomorrow is Friday and I have a special gift for all who read Friday’s post! Stay tuned to find out what it is… 🙂

This entry was posted in Healthy Lifestyle Changes, Resolutions and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to A Wicked Workout- Part II of II

  1. Dianna says:

    Wow, just reading that makes me ache!!
    And I didn’t walk this morning – miserably cold and the most aggravating little mist in the air today. Maybe tomorrow??!!

    Thanks for the insight into the kickboxing class.

  2. Barb says:

    Your tenacity is to be commended! I think if more people did what they enjoyed rather than just exercise to check it off a list, there would be more happy, healthy people. Kudos to you! 🙂

  3. Barb says:

    P.S. You have the cutest Bugaboo in the WORLD!

Leave a Reply

