Grilled Salad with Strawberry Reduction

As everyone knows, I am trying to make a healthy lifestyle change. Eating healthy is a big part of that. Eating healthy and planning healthy meals does not come naturally to me. I struggle with meal planning and it doesn’t help that I am not a year round fan of cooking. I have to be in the mood to cook and usually my mood to cook starts in October and goes through the New Years. Everyone loves to bake and cook around the holidays and I am no exception to the rule. I also get in another mood to cook around summer time and start to get the itch for grilled foods and salads. It has been so hot out here recently, that my mood for summer food and grilling started early and I found a recipe from The Pioneer Woman’s Tasty Food Blog that I wanted to try.  http://thepioneerwoman.com/tasty-kitchen/recipes/salads/grilled-salad-with-strawberry-balsamic-reduction/#respond

Grilled salad with strawberry reduction.

It sounded great. I wasn’t so sure about the grilled salad part but I am willing to try anything once. The thought of making my own salad dressing excited me and I ran to the store to buy what I needed. The recipe called for:

  • 2 heads Romaine Lettuce
  • 2 Tablespoons Olive Oil
  • 1-½ cup Sliced Strawberries
  • 1 cup balsamic Vinegar
  • ¼ cups Sugar
  • ½ cups Crumbled Gorgonzola Cheese

Everything sounded great to me minus the Gorgonzola Cheese. I nixed that part.

The first thing the directions called for was to turn the grill on high and while waiting for the grill to warm up. While the grill is warming up, drizzle olive oil over the lettuce and set aside to chop the strawberries.

Next, to make the dressing, boil vinegar, sugar, and ½ cup of strawberries and after you bring it to a boil, lower heat to medium and then let it reduce to 1/3 so that it thickens. So far, piece of cake. No problem.

Then comes the grilling of the salad part… I didn’t get a photo because it was too dark outside and I didn’t feel like messing with flash. Anyway, the direction said to grill the salad on hot spots so that it gets warmed and slightly charred but not limp. It also said to keep rotating the salad so that it gets evenly charred and not burnt. You rotate only for a few minutes, no more.

Finally, serve salad on plate and pour dressing and remaining strawberries on top.

It doesn’t look so bad. It did limp up. I swear, I rotated it and never let it sit for too long. I was not out there on the grill more than three minutes but still, it went limp. Almost mushy. The directions did not say whether or not to cool the dressing before serving and so when I poured it on, it was still warm.

Taste Test. Failed. Horrible. The salad was warm and Man-Child and I did not like the charred flavor. The dressing turned out amazing but it did not compliment the warm salad. We ended up throwing our salads away. The next day, I poured the dressing over cold romaine lettuce and it was fantastic bit I learned my lesson. I do not like grilled or warmed salad. There were several comments on this recipe and everyone seemed to love it, but it was not a hit with us. The chicken that “The Man” made turned out awesome. Since he rocked the chicken, he earned “The Man” status for the night, lol.

Again, I liked to dressing, but there was a fair amount of  sugar in it, and I would like to find another recipe that didn’t call for so much sugar or maybe  use another type of sugar substitute.

 

Anyone have any good healthy salad dressing recipes that you care to share? I have a Williams and Sonoma recipe book on salads that I am going to blow the dust off and try out. I am also going to start cooking out of a Weight Watcher Cook Book that I bought when I was still pregnant hoping to put to use… Yeah… that lasted all of a couple of days. So, over the next several months, I am going to try a new healthy recipe out on here each week or so and then review it for you guys.

 Wishing you all a Terrific Tuesday! 🙂

PS

took Bugaboo for an hour-long walk/jog in the jogging stroller last night and felt great afterwards. I may still have the crud/allergies but I’m not going to let that stop me anymore this week. No more excuses. Tonight is kickboxing then going for a walk/jog with the fam. It’s going to be a great week, I just know it! 🙂

This entry was posted in Healthy Lifestyle Changes and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Grilled Salad with Strawberry Reduction

  1. FatGirlUSA says:

    Hi… love the title of your blog, check out mine if you have time, I need all the weight loss tips I can get! I will check your site out again… loving it!

Leave a Reply

