I’m Letting Go

Ever have a song that you use for your personal theme song and in your head, you can hear it playing everywhere all around you? Kind of like an Ally McBeal moment…  Well, I have heard two of the most amazing songs that I have now deemed my theme music at this point in my life.

The first one is I’m Letting Go and the second is This Is The Stuff, both by Francesca Battistelli.

The past can be a scary, sad, or lonely place if you dwell on past regrets, poor decisions, and just anything negative. I tend to be a worrywart and dwell on past or current issues that really do not need a second thought. I am that person that over thinks things, wondering if people are mad at me or what they think of me… and I’m tired of doing that. I have prayed about that lately and realized that it just boggles me down. It causes undue worry and stress that is not healthy. If I am going to make a healthy lifestyle change, I need to make changes both physically and mentally. One of the things that I have done lately to achieve that is letting go… letting go of unnecessary stress, letting go of past mistakes and regrets once and for all, and letting go of trying to be a people pleaser.

 I’ve realized a lot the past couple of weeks and that being, I can’t please everyone and I focus too much on the negative instead of the positive in my life. I need to focus on living the life that I was intended to live and on things that really matter. I need to focus on my family, and myself but all the other stuff, can just go away. The negative people, the negative thoughts, etc… (By the way, I love doing things for other people and will continue to do for others, I am not completely selfish, and do not want to just focus on myself. For clarification, I basically mean that I am not going to focus on what others think about me right now make any sense?) Sorry, I told you guys that I was not a professional writer…

Have you ever heard of the 95/5 percent rationale?  In my interpretation of it, is this: I spend too much time worrying and stressing over the 5% of negatives in my life.  Such as being overweight, not as financially secure as I would like to be, my failures, broken resolutions, negative people, influences, or situations in my life and constantly worry over it when in the long run, that 5% doesn’t matter. What matters is the 95% worth of positives in my life. I have a great family, job, home, car, my health, friends, faith, etc… Too often, I let the 5% of negatives in my life consume me instead of focusing on the 95% of positives in my life.

(Sorry if I confused everyone there on my explanation of how I interpret the 95/5 rule.  I am not known to express my thoughts clearly all the time. I could never be a teacher, lol. )

Anyway, I wanted to share that with you as well as let you know that the past week, I have been so genuinely happy. I understand that things are going to come up and I’ll get down from time to time, but I’m just going to keep singing my theme songs and try to stop worrying about the small things as much and let go.

This is what matters…

Francesca Battistelli Lyrics – I’m Letting Go

My heart beats, standing on the edge
But my feet have finally left the ledge

Like an acrobat
There’s no turning back

Chorus
I’m letting go
Of the life I planned for me
And my dreams
Losing control
Of my destiny
Feels like I’m falling and that’s what it’s like to believe
So I’m letting go

This is a giant leap of faith
Trusting and trying to embrace

The fear of the unknown
Beyond my comfort zone

Chorus
I’m letting go
Of the life I planned for me
And my dreams
Losing control
Of my destiny
Feels like I’m falling and that’s what it’s like to believe
So I’m letting go

Giving in to your gravity
Knowing You are holding me
I’m not afraid

Feels like I’m falling and that’s what it’s like to believe
Feels like I’m falling and this is the life for me

Lyrics to This Is The Stuff :
I lost my keys in the great unknown
And call me please ‘Cuz I can’t find my phone

This is the stuff that drives me crazy
This is the stuff that’s getting to me lately
In the middle of my little mess
I forget how big I’m blessed
This is the stuff that gets under my skin
But I gotta trust You know exactly what You’re doing
It might not be what I would choose
But this is the stuff You use

45 in a 35
Sirens and fines while I’m running behind
Whoa

This is the stuff that drives me crazy
This is the stuff that’s getting to me lately
In the middle of my little mess
I forget how big I’m blessed
This is the stuff that gets under my skin
But I gotta trust You know exactly what You’re doing
It might not be what I would choose
But this is the stuff You use

So break me of impatience
Conquer my frustrations
I’ve got a new appreciation
It’s not the end of the world
Oh Oh Oh

This is the stuff that drives me crazy
This is the stuff
Someone save me
In the middle of my little mess
I forget how big I’m blessed
This is the stuff that gets under my skin
And I’ve gotta trust You know exactly what You’re doing
It might not be what I would choose
But this is the stuff You use

 I just had to share. So, chances are, if you have been around me lately or will be around me in the near future, you have heard or will hear me singing a line from one of the above… 🙂

Please feel free to share any of your personal theme songs or share how you have been able to “let go” of the negative and focus on the positive in your life.

Thanks for hanging in there with me! Have a wonderful rest of your Wednesday!

This entry was posted in Healthy Lifestyle Changes, Resolutions and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to I’m Letting Go

  1. Kathy says:

    I’m not sure if I should respond “Keep your Chin Up” or “Amen Sister” – I guess whichever you see more fitting. I can just imagine you walking around your house, work, etc. singing your new tune.

  2. homemade says:

    Oh I think it sounds like you are making a great change in not focusing on the small negative things that often plauge our minds..I know that happens to me too at times and I have to think, that is not the important stuff and negative people I like to cut out of my life as all that they bring is negativity and stress. We dont need that at all. I often think too that others don’t stop and think I can change this, I can focus on the positive and the good and when they do that more of that comes at them. I mean I can see people and all they do is talk bad about others and put others down. I don’t understand that at all. Why do that, why waste their own time worring and being mean to other people. Their comes a time when you have to except the things in your life that you have done, that you are and embrace yourself and be the best person you can be and the most grateful for the things you have. Like seems so much lighter and fuller when you do that.
    I guess I just got long winded here, all I was wanting to say was I think what you are doing is great and it is important that we think about the 95% of good and leave that ole 5% of negative.
    So I think it is Great that you are letting GO!!!!
    ~homemade

    • Thank you! You would think that it would be so easy to do, but I find that it is almost easier said than done. It is easy for me to say I’m not going to worry about the small stuff but then something happens, and I want to dwell on it… that is why I am constantly singing “I’m letting go”… almost to remind myself to just let go… it is not worth it.
      Thanks for sharing!
      PS
      I have to admit, I got in the mood to grill all this past weekend after reading your post on grilling out! So, I have you to thank for the awesome grilled chicken and hamburgers last weekend! 🙂

Leave a Reply

