Pink Eye

I woke up in the middle of the night with a weird sensation in my eyes. I couldn’t really open them and they were really runny and gooey. I was exhausted and didn’t pay much attention to it so I rubbed my eyes and went back to sleep.

This morning, my alarm went off, and again, I noticed that my eyes were almost glued shut with a runny gooey substance. I groggily (sp?) went into the bathroom, turned on the light, and freaked out.

I looked like Jack Black in Shallow Hal… you know when he is trying to avoid looking at Gwyneth Paltrow and he wipes vaseline over his eyes? Yah… my eyes had gobs of gook on them… gross, I know… how do you think I felt when I saw that?

I ran to check on Bugaboo expecting him to have the same goobery goo in his eyes, because lately if I get sick or anything, he is the culprit. His eyes were fine. Beautiful big blue eyes stared back into mine with absolute horror when he saw the gook hanging from my eye lashes. (In my haste, I never even thought to wash my eyes) I then had to calm him down and tell him mommy was ok but couldn’t hold him right then.

So what do I do next? I take photos! I took a couple of photos and then sent them to my sister, a Physician Assistant, and told her that I thought I had pink eye. Of course she responded sarcastically back that she thought I had it too. Next, I had to call my mom… she is the first person I always want to call when something is wrong. Then, being the responsible worker that I am, sent the photos to my boss and said pink eye or not… here I come!! Nah.. well, yah, I did send photos but to say that I may not be coming in and needed to get some antibiotics.

The good thing about being a social worker in the medical field, is having access to medical providers. I work with some great ones and they were able to link me to some antibiotic drops ASAP and then I was given clearance to come in. Needless to say, I have been hiding away in my office wearing sunglasses all day and wiping hands and anything I touch with sanitizer foam all afternoon. My hands are now dry and flaky… I need hand lotion. Stat.

My co-workers laughed at my sad plight all afternoon and loved my sunglasses over glasses look since I can’t wear contacts for a week. So I did what any fun-loving burnt out social worker would do… I ran after them and threatened to rub my face all over them… ok, so I didn’t really do that… I thought about it though 🙂 JK. They pretty much ran for the hills when they saw me approaching… but I don’t blame them. I would probably have done the same thing too .

Anyway, no kickboxing for me tonight. I’ll be nice and stay away. Going to hit the pavement for my cardio. I hope this clears up soon because I have too much going on this weekend including my first 5k run in almost 9 years, a football game, some baking, and a low country boil…

Tomorrow is Friday!! Yay!! So close yet so far away…. Have a good one!

This entry was posted in Random and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Pink Eye

  1. Dianna says:

    Not sure how I missed reading your blog for two days! But I’m sorry you’re having to deal with this. I’ve never had that, but, of course, know people who have. And it’s icky. Hope it’s gone soon, so you can return to your normal activities! We don’t have time for icky stuff!

Leave a Reply

