Moving On Up… and Resolutions Update

I was going to post about an amazing new recipe I tried last night that is a lip smacking, tongue talking, mouth-watering delight, but I did not have time to run home on my lunch break to download the photos. So, I will save that post for next week.

Instead of going home for lunch, I ran to our local furniture consignment store to buy a twin size mattress and box spring I found earlier this week that had been barely if ever used. I put this trip off for a while now, because purchasing a twin mattress set means my little Bugaboo has officially outgrown his crib (hasn’t slept in there forever anyway but now it’s official) and is ready to be in a bed of his own.

Now, comes the hard part… choosing the new theme for the big boy room. There are a few things I know how to do well but there are A LOT of things that I do not know how to do well and one of those things is decorating (the other big one is cooking!).  So, I am crossing my fingers that some of my readers will have a natural talent for this and be able to help me out…

Bugaboo loves balls and would probably enjoy a sports theme, but I figure he will always love sports and will have many years ahead of him to do that theme. This is still the time, when mommy gets to choose what mommy likes and wants.

I am a huge fan of Pottery Barn Kids, even if I really cannot afford to buy anything from there. It is a good source for inspiration to try to recreate the “look for less.” Well, I have fallen in love with PBK simply summer theme that features nautical decor and sharks! (Forgive me for going off on a tangent for a moment, but speaking of sharks… the movie Soul Surfer is amazing and I urge everyone to go and see it. It is a movie that inspires and motivates you as well as makes you want to overcome any obstacles holding you back in your own life. I can’t speak highly enough of this movie. I’m still afraid of sharks and will not get in the water, but it’s awesome- go see it!) Ok, back to nautical/shark boys themed room… here is a link to PBK site shark room what do you think? Is it too mature for an almost two-year old boy? I love the madras quilted bedding with the shark sheets… little boy prep… Bugaboo likes “fish”… it is definitely on my maybe list.

One of my co-worker said she could possibly help me cut out some wood shaped sharks or other sea creatures if I bring her a stencil or drawing. I’m sure finding some fun cheap beach decorations would be easy… I’m just stuck on whether or not that is too grown up for Bugaboo.  I am probably putting too much thought into this, but this is the only little boy room that I get a chance to decorate for and I want it to be just right.

As soon as my crib sells, I intend to go out and buy the bedding and decor, so I need to get a jump-start on ideas. I’m open to anything except movie themed rooms. Bugaboo LOVES Toy Story, but I really do not want a Toy Story room… I’m weird like that and just not a fan. Overkill I suppose.

Anyway, please share your thoughts… would love to hear them!

Resolution Update:

If you were to walk in my house now you would find it straightened up, beds made, and laundry put away… almost all the closets are now completely organized… Cardio is still going well… I take my vitamins almost every other day 🙂 … I am going to bed earlier and waking up 20 minutes earlier each day… quiet time.. Ah, yes-quiet time… last night I lit a few candles after Bugaboo went to bed, played some Norah Jones, and enjoyed a big wine glass full of water and just RELAXED for about 30 minutes. IT WAS AWESOME!  

I have taken more photos and editing them in Photoshop! I have also branched out a little more to meet new people and recently took a floral Easter decorating class this past week.

 My biggest struggle now is eating healthy. Time is my enemy and I just have not made the time to prepare weekly food plans, resulting in grabbing fast food or making whatever is lying around the house. I still have a lot of work to do in that area. I just have to keep reminding myself one change at a time, but then again, eating healthy is a big part of weight loss. If I do not get eating healthy under control soon, then I’m afraid that I will become discouraged about not losing weight, and as a result, will slack up on my workouts. So, I need to get on top of that. Fast. I feel good after a work out, but when I don’t see any results, I get frustrated with myself and usually end up eating more… go figure… it doesn’t make sense, I know, but that is the battle that I constantly endure.

Anyway…

Glad it is Friday! It is going to be another fun packed weekend full of  family events and eggtivities!  An Italian themed dinner party tonight, college softball game/Easter egg hunt in the morning, dying eggs/making cupcakes after softball game, and Sunday is Easter!

Have a Good Friday!!    🙂

Here are a few pics of Bugaboo from Easter last year.. he wasn’t even walking yet… I can’t believe how much he has grown since then… I’m fighting back the tears… I want to go back to that time but then again I don’t…

Below you can see where he is doing the dog crawl… it was only a couple of weeks later, he took his first steps and has been going non-stop ever since! I love the photo where he is all sticky… it was his first time trying a lollipop. And of course, have to love the photo where he is hoarding all of his loot!

This entry was posted in Random, Resolutions and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Moving On Up… and Resolutions Update

  1. I love the nautical theme for Bugaboo! You could always start with friendly little fish, star fish, sea shells and cute crabs, etc. Throw in some beach balls and plastic sand buckets with shovels and an occasional bottle of bubbles. Then he could move up to sharks and other more mature creatures as he grows. Did you know they make little kid size pop up tents that look like a friendly blue shark? It’s true! We bought one for our grandson, Jonah Bear, when he was two. I think nautical is a great theme you could build on for years.

    My Baby and I decorated Jonah Bear’s room in a camping/fishing theme. I found old camp stools, a red Coleman lantern that’s actually a flashlight, a fishing rod frame holder, a painted boat oar with pegs for hanging stuff on (an old boy scout canteen, a fake Daniel Boone coonskin cap, a little park ranger vest from Yellowstone). And we recovered his lamp shades in a cute “camping & fishing bears” fabric. It really turned out cute. I grew up with sisters and had one daughter, so I LOVE the little boy stuff!

    • I love your idea. Sounds good. Bugaboo is sick today, and has been sleeping a lot… so, I have had plenty of time to look online at nautical things for a boys room. There really is SO much out there. I found a really cool blog, The Lettered Cottage, and now I want to redo my whole house after their work, lol.
      The camping theme sounds cute. Would love to see photos!
      Whatever I do decide, I will definitely take some photos. My assignment this week is narrow down what I want, and start pricing everything. My budget is $200 So, that will certainly be a challenge when you think about paint, bedding, curtains, and decor!

      • Do you sew? My friend Kandi posted a story on converting diaper boxes into fabric covered storage bins. They turned out great, and it’s a cheap way to turn a cheap bookshelf into a storage unit. If you want to see more, go to:
        http://kandilandblog.blogspot.com/2011/03/sew-fun.html

        I also found some of Jonah Bear’s camping stuff on Craigslist and at estate sales. It was a cheap way to get decorating items on the cheap as others were redecorating bedrooms. If you’re into garage sales, spring’s a good time to find stuff! My daughter also sold some of her nursery stuff and baby clothes on EBay. No telling what you might find there.

      • No, I don’t sew, YET. But after looking at that post, I wish I knew how to now. That is such a neat idea. I tried to comment on her blog, but think comments are blocked or something, I couldn’t find anywhere to post one… but they turned out great. I’m not ready to take on that challenge yet but only because I can’t even sew a button on a shirt, let a lone a box! Hopefully by the end of the year, I will be able to do some basic sewing!

  2. Dianna says:

    I agree with Nana Bread – the nautical theme is great!

    Good luck with your health eating resolution. I don’t do too well in that aspect of life either. And I know how easy it is to get discouraged when you don’t see results. But – just keep telling yourself you’re doing the right thing!

    • Well, given that this past weekend was Easter, I am being lenient on myself, but definitely plan to cut back. I found 3 new recipes from a weight watcher book that I intend to try out this week. I’ll keep you posted!

  3. geri says:

    I just saw your entry on the lettered cottage.
    Layla is so amazing at creating spaces on a very small budget and her ideas are always crazy beautiful.
    I love the nautical theme for any age. I try to do Beachy calm in my home too.
    Sharks might be a titch scary for young, sweetie “bugaboo”.
    The Christmas Tree Shop if you have one near by has super inexpensive accessories to get a beachy feel and can be a knock off for some items at Pottery Barn Kids. Paint is the biggest abd cheapest way to chage a room. You could paint horizontal fat stripes or paint waves 1/2 of the way up the wall. Decals are great too.
    Enjoy every minute of Baby time, and everything has a way of falling into place.
    Happy Easter, geri.

    • I am not familiar with the Christmas Tree Shop and will see if they have an online store or locate the closest one to me. I’m not artsy WHATSOEVER… and can barely draw stick people let alone a wave… but will def. keep it on my wish board and can have someone else draw the wave on.
      Thanks for the suggestions!

  4. First of all, Hi! Nice to meet you…thanks for leaving behind comments when you visited our blog:)

    I clicked the PB link you attached. Very cute theme and no, I don’t think it’s too old. Love the primary colors for a child that age!

    You’ve already succeeded in making time for yourself in the evenings and you’ve made your mornings easier…you’ll get there with the planning of the meals too.

    Have a wonderful Easter!

    • Hope you had a Happy Easter as well. Ate too much over this way, but not going to be too hard on myself.
      I’m excited to paint. I love painting rooms. I’ll be painting my room in the next few weeks too. Paint makes everything better. 🙂

      Have a great week.

  5. Kat says:

    Sharks? Hell yes! I was going to suggest a pirate theme, personally. But that might involve a lot of commitment, should you want to be able to modify the theme without having to do much down the road. Nautical is always a safe call, I think. Or forest/nature.

  6. PBK had a really cute pirate room last year… didn’t want to go out and buy tons of pirate stuff. I was hoping the beach/nautical theme would give me plenty of options and be able to find some cute stuff for cheap. Now that I found the Lettered Cottage, I can’t stay off it, so have found a lot of new inspiration. I’m addicted now… I want to redo my whole house in their look… ahhh… if only money grew on trees! 🙂

    Thanks for the suggestion and comment. I appreciate it.

Leave a Reply

