A Royal Mess

OK, so, I have to vent for a few minutes.

I came home on my lunch break to type a nice sweet post about my meal plan for the week when I turned on one of my favorite TV stations, TLC. There was a show on talking about the Royal Family and Wedding… I have had about enough of all the royal hype. Why you might ask?

Because William was supposed to be mine and their royal wedding was supposed to be mine, lol. It all started years ago when I was a little girl. I fell in love with William in the pages of my teen bop magazines. I just knew we were meant to be together and if he had the chance to meet me, he would feel the same way.

I told my friends and family that I knew I was really a royal child somehow and my royal family wanted me to have the chance to grow up with a normal family and not in the spotlight. So, they loaned me out to my “family” and when I turned 18, it would be revealed to me that I was really royalty and would be introduced to the love of my life, Prince William.

This became the private joke in my family and when I turned 18, my mom and sister surprised me with a princess bear birthday cake. I was the happiest girl in the world at that moment because they actually remembered my childhood fantasy and made it special, even though they joked that I was stuck with them and told my royal butt to go take out the garbage.Ā  I didn’t even care that my royal family never claimed me, they couldn’t handle me anyway is what I like to think. šŸ™‚

Even though I’m over my non-royal heritage, I still could care less that Prince William has found the love of his life. Because it still should have been me, lol. So, to this day, I still can’t stand to watch anything on TV, read any magazines that focuses on the two and their Royal Wedding, because I’m still bitter about us and what could have been! Sad, I know, but what can I say… it is what it is.

So, instead of writing about my meal plan that I actually planned this week, I’m going to sulk and be one of the few who are not happy about this wedding and not caught up in the excitement of the Royal Wedding, and no, I will definitely NOT be watching it on TV.Ā  šŸ™‚

There is always Prince Harry though… he used to be the ugly duckling and now, quite the opposite! But he is a wild child… and I’ve grown accustomed to the small town life and while it is still a dream to live in a cottage in England where I can live out my Sense and Sensibility dream, I am content with my life and love my family.

So Boo to TLC for royally wrecking my TV lunch plans.

Happy Wednesday!

This entry was posted in Random and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to A Royal Mess

  1. Ha! You are killin’ me with this one! I had the same fantasy as a little girl: I had to be royalty, and my royal family just wanted me to have a “normal” upbringing out of the public eye. It all started when I read “Little Lord Fauntleroy” as a kid.

  2. LOL, love it!! Glad to know that I am not the only one. I remember way way back when I would ride my horse and talk in a British accent pretending to be riding horses with William… ahhh… to be young again and have such an imagination. I really miss it sometimes… the hours I would spend playing Barbies, house, and royalty… the good old days.
    I never read that book… I”ll have to check it out šŸ™‚

  3. Dianna says:

    Telling my age here: my childhood fascination with Britain wasn’t with the royal family, but the Beatles!
    And I confess: I am planning to get up early to watch the wedding tomorrow, just as I did with Charles & Diana. And hoping for a happily ever after for this couple.

  4. NanaBread says:

    I got married in 1982 in a replica Diana dress. And I’m not kidding!
    I should scan one of those old photos and post it this week. HA!
    I’m with Dianna (above). I remember my best friend spending the night and us getting up really early to watch every minute of Charles & Diana’s wedding. We’d just graduated from high school. I though Diana was living the dream. Secretly, I think we all long to be royal princesses… or at least have that kind of over-the-top princess wedding!

    • I would LOVE to see photos of your wedding dress. That is one thing I do want to see… Kate’s (go figure.. she even has my name! I’m telling you, it should have been me,lol) wedding dress. I’m just jealous šŸ™‚
      But think about it… we sit back and read about history of England in books or watch it in movies, but she gets to LIVE it! She gets to walk through the palace and see the original works of art, clothes, jewels, and who knows what else! I just think that is so cool. I would love to spend a day with the queen or run free in the palace… I would soak up all the history I could… I love history…

  5. Sorry about them wreckin’ your lunch. Very rude indeed.

    • lol, I know, the nerve! What makes it worse is that my mom and sister keep trying to tell me that it is history in the making and we get a chance to watch it… well, I keep wishing I was the one making history, not watching it! šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

