Changes are Coming…Slowly but Surely!

Disclaimer: This post kind of jumps around a bit and you can tell the day I am having, that I am a little all over the place! Hopefully you can follow it!

As everyone knows, I’m trying to make a healthy lifestyle change.  It is going rather slowly and is not happening as fast as I would like, and I feel overwhelmed at times.

I don’t know where to start when it comes to healthy eating .  Do you start small or just dive in 100%?  

I started making small changes and realized that diving in a 100% now is probably not a good idea knowing me and I would only become more overwhelmed and discouraged if I failed.

We have attempted to cut back on the junk food in our home and I try to purchase more organic healthy snacks for Bugaboo and GQ to eat. Well, ok, not always, but Publix Key Lime ice cream makes it impossible to leave junk food behind entirely. Bugaboo and GQ love fruit, so I have bought more of that and less chips and crackers. I do buy Annie’s bunnies and Earth Fare’s animal cookies when on sale for Bugaboo, but other than that, I have tried to just stick to fruit, cheese, and yogurt for his snacks. I have heard some snickers from other people when I say that I don’t want my child eating the stuff that I did or do and that I want him to eat healthier than me, but seriously,  what mom wouldn’t want that for their child?  I want him to be healthy and eat real food. I don’t want him to eat or drink chemicals all the time. I don’t want him to have the same struggles that I do.

My biggest struggle?

DIET SODA!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

I would love to give up soda and processed foods, but it’s hard.

It’s hard for several reasons, one being that I absolutely LOVE diet coke. I mean I’m pretty much addicted to it. I have tried to stop cold turkey and tried to wean myself off, but all attempts have failed. Have I told you just how much I LOVE diet coke? I wish I only had a desire to drink water, or other healthy drink options, but my body literally craves the stuff. Sad, I know… One day, I will kick the habit. One day…

Time is the other reason that giving up processed food is difficult.  It is so much easier to make mac and cheese from the box versus homemade mac and cheese when you work full-time, try to go to the gym, try to keep your home in order, and try to spend time with your family. Time becomes your worst enemy.  Quick and simple meals are usually the way to go but most of those meals are processed and are not healthy.

I have heard that it is easier to eat non-processed meals when you take time to plan your meals ahead of time. I know to make the healthy lifestyle change that I want to make, I need to make meal planning a priority and that way, I will know in advance what I will make for dinner and have things ready ahead of time instead of waiting to the last-minute.

Last week I did well with my meal plan. I almost stuck to it 100% but then baseball and another activity happened and we grabbed Chick Fil A once and then had dinner at my mom’s house another night, I think. I went ahead and made a meal plan for this week and so far, I’m on track! It does make it easier to cook meals when you plan. Imagine that! So, like some of the other small changes I have made in my life, meal planning is here to stay. I already have some meals lined up for this weekend and next week.  Tonight when everyone is in bed, I am going to make my grocery list and even see if there are any coupons for what I need to buy! Yay me for trying to be more organized and save money at the same time!

I recently discovered two new food and health blogs that are awesome on so many levels. You should check these out if you have some time.

  1. 100 days of real food
  2. Simply Healthy Family

I have printed off several recipes that I intend to try over the next month or so and will let you know how they turn out. There are many great healthy food blogs out there, but it is easy to find yourself overwhelmed in food blogland. So, I just narrowed it down to my two favorite ones. I’m even considering taking the 100 days of real food pledge, but still need to discuss it with Man-Child, because if he is not on board, then I know I will run into problems and I don’t want to set myself up for failure. If I do decide to do it, then you will be one of the first ones to know! Maybe I would start small though. Instead of 100 days of real food, I would start with two weeks or something, lol. We shall see!

Tonight for dinner: Tilapia, steamed squash and zucchini with rice! (We had chicken stir-fry last night)

 PS: I pretty much gave up walking on my lunch breaks. The weather has gone from high 70’s/low 80’s straight to the 90’s and IT IS HOT out there!  I don’t know what I am going to do… I’m hopeless, lol. I need to just sign up for MTV’s Made or something! 🙂

Wednesday… We’re halfway there! Another fun-filled weekend quickly approaching!

This entry was posted in Healthy Lifestyle Changes and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Changes are Coming…Slowly but Surely!

  1. Dianna says:

    I, too, am a Diet Coke addict. My hubby doesn’t say anything, but I know he thinks it: empty Diet Coke bottles fill up our recycling box in no time.
    As for walking, the ONLY time that I can get that in is first thing in the morning. I know that may be impossible since you have a little one. But I find that, in the summer, it’s cooler then, and it just seems to get my day started off on the….. (right foot) – sorry! Good luck!

  2. It wouldn’t be impossible if I woke up in time to do it! But I am NOT a morning person,lol. Man-Child and I were walking every afternoon after work for awhile but this past week, it has gone from the 80’s to 95 and the humidity is horrible as well. All in a matter of a week. I always say I’m going to wake up earlier to walk and that doesn’t happen and unless I had a walking buddy, I won’t wake up, so just going to try and do evenings when the sun goes down on the nights we don’t have baseball! I remember back when living in Fl and we would have two recycling bins full of diet coke bottles! Craziness! Have a great day!

  3. mommygems says:

    Hi.. 🙂 I’ve been struggling to lost weight and can’t keep motivated. I don’t drink sodas, but I eat a lot of rice! lol.Itried everys site, tracking calories and failed. You’ll be my inspiration from now on! Good luck!

    • Wow! That makes me feel… AWESOME!!! Thanks for sharing that with me. I have tried every diet known to man-kind so I know its hard to find motivation when everything fails. I’m glad you found me and hope that I don’t let you down! In the past weeks, I noticed that I’m not losing a lot of weight, but I am starting to lose inches and toning up. I think I’m going to stop looking at the scale and just stick to the measuring tape for awhile so I don’t get down and just do a weigh in once a month or so. We’ll see.
      I look forward to hearing more from you! Have a great weekend.

Leave a Reply

