My Sister, My Hero

My sister and I have always been close growing up. I could write for ever on how great of a sister she is but my typed words on here could never do her justice.  

Time is my enemy today, so my sister is not getting the full dedicated post that she deserves…

Anyway, on Tuesday, my sister officially became a First Lieutenant in the Alabama National Guard as a Physician Assistant.

I wish I could have been there to watch her being sworn in, but I was at home with the stomach virus. Actually, my poor sister, she had the virus too but managed to pull off everything with the help of our mom! I wish I would have remembered to give her the camera, but phone pic will do.

She has always been there  helping me out along the way… when there was a need, she would see to it and fill it. Now, she sees to the needs of her patients on a daily basis and soon, will see to the needs of the men and women of the Armed services and to wherever else the Guard will take her.

I am so proud of her and all of her accomplishments. I look forward to seeing where this next adventure will take her!

I love you!

PS

On a side note… if any of you guys read The Pioneer Woman , you may be familiar with this story but if not, Ree blogged how her mother in-law had a dream to move far away and her sister’s dream was to stay close at home. In the end, her sister married a man in the military and travelled the world, and Ree’s mother-in-law stayed close to home… well, I was in Army ROTC in college and wanted to join the Army as a LT… long story short, I didn’t go through with Army… and now my sister is the LT in the family 🙂 Funny how life turns out sometimes…

This entry was posted in Random and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to My Sister, My Hero

  1. Kathy says:

    I’m not sure if you remember my Med Tech study buddy, Jessie Kuerner (now Friday), but she just recently finished PA school as well and joined active duty AF. Tell your sister congrats and good luck from the Beales’!!

  2. That’s awesome… yes, I remember her! Joining the Armed forces is the only way to pay off all those crazy student loans… heck, if I can get this weight off, I would consider joining as well to pay down some of my loans….
    I will let her know! Hope life in Germany is going well. I wish I had a life in Germany… or England… would be Schweet!! 🙂

  3. Dianna says:

    Congrats to your sister; I know you’re proud of her.
    Yes, I read that post on Pioneer Woman about her mother-in-law. It IS funny how life turns out sometimes.
    Thanks for commenting on my blog today. Glad you & your co-worker enjoyed the story about my childhood mischief!

  4. mommygems says:

    Congratulations to your teacher! Having a sister is really great, what makes it more great is when your sister is doing something to be proud of.. Have a great day!Anyway, I called my sister just now because I suddenly miss her after reading this. 🙂

Leave a Reply

