MIA Again

I really don’t mean to be away from here for so long but the days just fly by me! (Not having internet at home doesn’t help either)

Work has been crazy busy. We had an audit today and have been busy preparing for that on top of working out the kinks in our new clinic. And while I’m briefly mentioning work, let me just go off on a tangent for the moment and say that while I LOVE my job, I should have stuck with nursing instead of changing my major in college… they get paid more!  As busy as we have been and being assigned a new client every week on top of a staggering client caseload… overwhelmed is a term I use all too often.

Breathe in…

Breathe out…

Ok, I feel better now that I vented and breathed. 🙂

Now for a quick update:

This week started the 5:30 am walk/run class at work and so far, so good (besides my hip bothering me). We’ve gone to bed earlier this week and waking up hasn’t been difficult so far. Of course, it is only the first week and the excitement of the class hasn’t had time to wear off, but I love it. I’m not sure what is up with my hip (it started hurting after the 5k a while back and started bothering me again after running this morning) but if it doesn’t work out the kinks on its own, I may be visiting the doctor.

Yes, I stretched. And I’ve continued to stretch all morning at work, but no such luck. I’m getting old. How many women in their 20’s complain that their hip is hurting? Oy vey.

Kickboxing is still going well. I had a guy tell me that I was throwing some good hard punches Monday night and that Jennifer Berg better watch out. I just laughed and said thank you, but had no idea who Jennifer Berg was until I googled her. She is some MMA (mixed martial arts) fighter. I know he was just being nice and encouraging but having a big strong guy I don’t really know walk up to me to compliment me was a great feeling. It made me feel good about myself and raised my confidence level.

Today marks 10 days I’ve gone without drinking diet soda. Well, last night, I did have a sip of my mom’s diet coke, but after drinking water for 10 days, the soda didn’t taste good to me. The first few days were rough but after the headache went away, it was easy. I feel better overall and my knees haven’t been hurting me as much. I think it’s more mental than physical, but either way, if it makes me feel better, I’ll take it!

I weighed myself last Saturday and was excited to see that my weight had dropped 5 pounds. It’s not coming off as fast as I would like, but as long as it is going down in the right direction I’m happy with that. I looked into some weight loss programs in our area after seeing someone I know drop 35 pounds in 5 months, but spending over 600 dollars to do it, is just not feasible now. And so I press on….

Photography has taken a back seat in my life the past two weeks. I just haven’t had the time. Thankfully, our 4th of July trip is coming up, and I plan to relax and take hundreds of photos of the boys at the beach. Can’t wait!

OH! I found my sunglasses and Bugaboo’s hat but still can’t find our video camera or my iPod… I have no clue where they ran off too, but I was still ecstatic when I found my favorite pair of sunglasses!

Once I find our video camera, I plan on taking videos of Bugaboo hitting some balls off his t-ball set. He can REALLY whack the ball off of it. I know I think he’s great and wonderful because he is my baby, but for just turning 2 and being able to whack the ball as far as he does amazes me. He does this thing where he lifts his leg before swinging… too cute. Almost everyday he asks to go play ball and for about 15-30 minutes, he does nothing but hit balls and “run around the bases.” As I’m typing this, I just remembered my sister telling me last night that she would record him on her phone and upload it for me, so once these thunderstorms roll outta here, I’ll be taking her up on that.

Ok, break over and have to get back to case notes and referrals… fun stuff…

Sorry for being MIA, but with limited internet access and with not much going on lately, there hasn’t been much to write about. Pretty boring around here!

Hope everyone is doing well and enjoying their Wednesday. I know I am… hump day, baby! Two more days until the weekend… the countdown begins…

This entry was posted in Healthy Lifestyle Changes, Resolutions and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to MIA Again

  1. Dianna says:

    Good to see you posting: I’ve missed you! And thanks for the comments on my blog, too.

    Glad the walking is going well, sorry about your hip. Of course, I’m much older than you, but I get those pains – my foot was hurting (went to the dr. It was tendonitis). Then my leg hurt (just worked through that one). Now I’m going to the chiropractor for my back (it’s better, cutting back on visits to him), but I manage to keep a pretty steady walk routine.
    I think if you keep at it, you’ll see those pounds come off – maybe not quickly, but they will!

    • My hip is still bothering me… I am making an appointment to see the doctor next week after we get back from our beach trip. It only bothers me when I am jogging… kickboxing it is fine… weird!
      I have arthritis in my knees… I’m a walking disaster I tell ya! 🙂

  2. Dianna says:

    PS- I admire you for giving up the diet soda. I’m so addicted to Diet Coke. Maybe I can be inspired by you. I know it isn’t good for me, but still I keep drinking it!

    • Confession… I had a soda or two this weekend while i was helping my sister move and I felt horrible and bloated afterwards. I’m definitely going to try and keep up drinking more water because I just feel so much better and slimmer, lol.

  3. gapgrad says:

    That is SO early to be getting up to go walking–but I’m so proud of you! My big goal this week is to start walking every day. *crosses fingers* Wish me luck!

  4. NanaBread says:

    I’m with gapgrad – your dedication to getting up earlier than the butt-crack of dawn greatly impresses me. I don’t know how you do it, but then I’m really not a morning person. I don’t hit my “stride” until around 10am. Don’t get me wrong… I’m usually up by 7am, I just don’t feel myself until around 10am. Maybe it’s the menopausal insomnia. Some nights I’m up until 3am (without any caffeine during the day). Oh, heck… I’ll just do what I always do and blame menopause for everything! Hope works slows down a little so you can catch your breath, and I can’t wait to see Bugaboo playing ball!

    • Sadly I’ve realized work will not be slowing down anytime soon and I’m just adjusting… which means, less time to read my blogs 😦 I hate playing catch up with my blogs… how dare my clients keep calling me and showing up for their appointments… don’t they know that I just want to read my blog list each morning in peace and quiet? They haven’t gotten the memo yet 🙂
      We’re working on the video.. these thunderstorms have been sticking around. We have had one every day since last week and they all seem to be after I get off work.
      Oh! and got caught up on your blog this afternoon… LOVE the photos of the grandkids! Your granddaughter is just beautiful… and jonah bear jumping off the couch? Priceless.

  5. grommom says:

    Good job girl! You’ve made some serious strides…now let me encourage you to NOT BURN OUT and to keep the big picture in mind…When you hit a slump you may need to press on but it is worth it to be healthier and happier. Woohoo! 🙂
    Blessings to you and always fun to read your stuff.
    gm

Leave a Reply

