The One Thing That Keeps Me off My Diet …Is Food

A couple of weeks ago, my aunt and cousins came down to visit. We had a fun relaxing weekend full of laughs and hand and foot (the best card game ever). While we were sitting around the table playing cards, my cousin was playing around with a quote app on her phone. She started chuckling and read the following quote “The one thing that keeps me off my diet is food.” We all laughed as we sat around the table munching on snacks and agreed that it was too true, for us anyway. You gotta love some diet humor. By the way, if you are looking for a couple of laughs about dieting or weight loss, check this out http://www.quotegarden.com/dieting.html  There are a couple of good ones in there.

I recently discovered a great resource for families while on my quest to find healthy snacks and meal ideas for toddlers. I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again, I do NOT want my son to grow up eating tons of popular snack (junk) foods or drinking loaded sugar drinks. I want him to be healthy and raise him to make healthy food choices. That is not to say that he can’t ever have any of that stuff, but just not on a regular basis and not purchased by me. I want to make sure I give him a strong healthy foundation so hopefully one day he won’t end up where I’m at now. 

Anyway, back to the great resource I found. This is amazing and I can’t believe I have never heard of it before now.

Super healthy kids

Do yourself a favor and check it out! It’s pure genius and I wish I would have found it sooner. Inside the website, you will find the new USDA guidelines for meal portions, free meal ideas, meal plans, recipes, and much more! Amy, a mother of three, provides balanced, fun, and healthy meal plans for children that the whole family can enjoy. I dabbled in meal planning for oh, let’s say, three weeks, and I HATED it. It took a lot of time to go through cookbooks or magazine to put together meals and I didn’t enjoy it one bit. At super healthy kids, Amy takes away that stress and creates the meal plans for you.

We are on our third week using her meal plans and I can honestly say that grocery shopping and cooking have become so much easier. It cuts down on guessing what to make for your next meal and you know exactly what you need to buy so you don’t go and buy random things you don’t need.

If you go on to the kids blog now, you will see a post about cinnamon apple smacks and a very veggie stackable omelet. I made the apple smacks last night and devoured them this morning before work. We had the veggie omelet for dinner two nights ago. Last night I made the best black bean soup with lime and bean enchiladas (they were not on the menu for this week but on some past ones.  Boy were they delicious!) We change-up the meals and days to suit our mood, but we still choose something from off her meal plans. I have even thought about e-mailing the link to the site to my son’s daycare to encourage them to start implementing things off her meal plans to their monthly menu.

The best part about her meal plans is that the entire family benefits! Man-Child LOVES everything I have made from there, so far anyway. I’ve also made wheat berry salad, quinoa, and tonight I’m making strawberry, blueberry salsa with grilled salmon! My mouth is watering just thinking about it! Can’t wait!

So, mealtime has become easy, fun, interesting, and healthy all in a matter of a couple of weeks. I love the positive feedback from my family and it encourages me to keep at it.

Another thing I’ve realized over the past couple of weeks is that the healthier I eat, the happier I am and want to get outside and play with my bugaboo. The other day bugs and I hit balls for about 20 minutes and then went to the park. Instead of playing on the play sets, he wanted to run up and down a huge hill. My calves were burning after that! After the park, we topped off our day with an evening swim.  

It just feels great to be eating healthy and exercising. Ok, so maybe not exercising everyday as I need to be, but I’m getting there.

Baby steps.

Baby steps.

I’m glad no one was around when I typed baby steps because I just started laughing out loud to myself. Has anyone seen the movie “What About Bob?” with Bill Murray and Richard Dreyfuss? If you have, then you should know what I’m talking about and if you haven’t seen it, then go out and rent it now. It’s as much aggravating as it is hilarious.  It makes for a good Friday evening movie!

If you guys get a chance to check out Super Healthy Kids, let me know how you liked it!

Oh! And if you check out “What About Bob?” let me know if you liked it and what your favorite part of the movie was!

Happy Friday!!

This entry was posted in Healthy Lifestyle Changes and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The One Thing That Keeps Me off My Diet …Is Food

  1. Awww.. thank you for the kind words, Katie! You made my day, and I’m totally flattered (literally blushing right now). I’m so glad you have found some things that your family likes. Keep me updated on your journey and good luck!

    • No, thank you! Seriously. I was getting desperate and when I happened across your blog after Googling ‘healthy meals for toddlers’, I felt immediate relief. This is what I needed to get back on the right track. I actually look forward to cooking now and that is not the norm for me! I’ll definitely keep you posted and give updates. Just saw the new post on your tropical ice cream and hope to try it out. Thanks again and have a great weekend!

  2. Diannana says:

    Excuse me, your excitement is showing!! Glad you’ve found the site; sounds like it’s a great one. And even though I don’t have any kids at home, I’m going to check it out! Have a good weekend!

Leave a Reply

