Practice Makes Better

You remember awhile back when I said that I would be taking some photos of my friends younger sister? Well, we were finally able to get up a couple of weeks ago and I recently finished editing some of my favorite photos.

Because things never go as planned for me, I should have known that the Saturday evening of our “session” (and I use the term session VERY loosely, but still fun to say) would be no exception. At the beginning of the week I checked the weather to see what it looked like. Every day that week showed rain and thunderstorms. Of course, Monday-Friday, there was no rain and the days turned out beautiful and sunny. Saturday showed that it would storm as well but I hoped that we would have the same luck and the afternoon would turn out nice as well.

Yah…. the clouds, rain, thunder, and lightning all rolled in late afternoon. I started to get nervous. I checked the weather again and it showed that the skies would clear for the last hour before sunset. After stressing all day, it looked like I was finally going to catch a break and get a chance to pull it off.

Plans finalized, we (Man-child, bugaboo, and GQ-we made it a family affair, lol) kept our fingers crossed as we drove 45 minutes away to meet up with S and her two friends. When we arrived at our destination, the sky was still overcast and the lighting was not ideal. We were determined to make the most of it. I had a couple of different locations in mind for us to take photos and by the time we got set up at our first site, rays of hope (light) started shining through.

Here are a few of my favorite photos from our first location:

(This is an example of when I should have used a reflector)

After 15 minutes at this location, I decided that we needed to go try another spot where I could get better lighting. So we packed up and headed downtown. Again, here are some of my favorites.

I know the photo below is a little overexposed but I still like how he is in focus and she is not but you can still see the expression on her face as she looks at him.

When it was all said and done, I know I did the best I could and think they turned out ok considering my limited experience and photography training. After reviewing the photos, I was able to go through most of them and understand what I should have done differently and will try to do differently in the future. For one thing, I should have used a reflector to even out the lighting and prevent shadows but honestly, I have never used one before. That will be changing soon.

Also, I know that I still have a LONG way to go with Photoshop. I’ve tried to spend every spare minute I have reading and watching Photoshop tutorials and then practicing what I just learned. It’s slow in coming but I know if I just keep at it, one day I’ll get it. Practice makes better!

Well, it’s a beautiful outside and the boys are rushing me to get off the computer so we can go enjoy the afternoon and go for a swim.

Wishing everyone a great day!

This entry was posted in Photography and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Practice Makes Better

  1. gapgrad says:

    These are really good! Great job!

  2. Diannana says:

    They look great to me, too. I really should spend more time learning about my camera and photography.
    I just posted today about dropping my camera and breaking the lens. 😦
    Maybe I just need to learn to HOLD my camera.

    • I”m so sorry to hear about your camera lens! I’d be absolutely devastated. If you live near a university or small college, I would check out their community outreach department and see if they offer any photography classes. That is what I did and hoping to take a photoshop class there as well in September.
      Maybe motor man can buy you and even bigger and better lens 🙂

  3. dianna says:

    Looks like you got some great shots – Love the one of her looking at him!

Leave a Reply

