Know Your Limits

Over the past several weeks, my workouts at the gym have been inconsistent and few. I had gone three-four times a week but lately struggling to go twice a week. Distractions always pop up in the afternoon and I let them throw me off course. So last Monday I was determined to get back on track. Because no matter how much I dread going at times, I always leave feeling refreshed and better about EVERYTHING and then wonder why I don’t do it more often. I love the post-work out high you get.

“Exercise gives you endorphins. Endorphins make you happy. Happy people just don’t shoot their husbands. They just don’t.”

Can you name the movie that quote comes from? It just popped up in my head as I was typing the above. Do you see how easy it is for me to become distracted?  

Anyway, so last Monday, I was determined to resume kickboxing class four times a week. I was pumped up and ready to go. Class was awesome as always… Until…

Until the last exercise of the evening when The Fighter instructed us to do a series of four exercises for 15 seconds each for 5 minutes without rest.  He showed us the proper form for each exercise and then set the clock.

It began.

First exercise for 15 seconds: Plank

Second exercise for 15 seconds: Pushups

Third exercise for 15 seconds: Hip Flaps… don’t ask… you are supposed to be in the pushup position but then you rotate your hips to touch each side.

Fourth exercise for 15 seconds: I can’t think of the name but similar to the squat thrusts where you start in a push-up position and then quickly bring your left knee in towards your chest and then out again and bring the right knee up to your chest. You are supposed to repeat in a smooth, rhythmical fashion.

So, the first exercise started off fine as well as the second, but things started to get complicated once we transitioned to the hip flaps. After a minute and a half of non-stop exercise, my arms were killing me. I started to get sloppy. Instead of only rotating my hips, I was flopping my weight around from side to side. I knew something wasn’t right. It didn’t feel right completing the exercise but I didn’t want to stop and ask if I was doing it properly. I just wanted to get it done. 

When we finished the exercises, the left side of my back was tight and did not feel right. Standing up was excruciating but I just figured I got up wrong and it would work itself out in a minute or two.

I left the gym to go pick up bugaboo at daycare and when I got to the daycare, I was stiff as a board. It hurt to twist my back to the right or left, pretty much any movement made me cringe and want to cry. I thought I was going to yell out when I lifted bugs up in his car seat. I called my sister, a Physician Assistant, and told her about the gym and that something was not right with my back. Each time I tried to take a deep breath, there was a sharp pain and I could not finish the deep breath. She asked me several questions about numbness, tingling, and some other stuff. When I answered no to all of them and said it just hurt to move, she said I probably pulled a muscle and that she was coming over with ice and heating pads.  

To make a long story short, by the time that Man-child and my sister arrived to the house, I was lying on the floor unable to move.   I thought that if I lied on the floor and brought my knees up to my chest one at a time that I could stretch out my back. Negative. It only made things worse and I literally could not move. Man-Child had to lift me off the floor.

Today, I’m feeling a lot better but wish I could go back and do things differently.

The minute I felt uncomfortable completing the hip flaps exercise is the moment I should have stopped and asked The Fighter what to do to correct my form. If I continued to struggle then I should have sat out those 15 seconds. I didn’t want The Fighter or anyone else to think that I was quitting or not willing to put forth an effort in the final moments so I kept on…flopping and flapping.

But at the end of the day, it’s my body and I’m the one that has to deal with the aches and pains. I’m not 18 and in the best shape of my life. I’m 27, overweight, and out of shape. I don’t exactly need to be flapping my hips from side to side. 🙂

A lesson learned… Listen to your body and know your limits.

Happy Monday!!

This entry was posted in Random and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Know Your Limits

  1. Dianna says:

    I would have been really scared…and I’m sure you were. I’m glad your hubby and sister were there for you. And glad you’re feeling better!

    • Thanks! Me too. The worst part was when Bugaboo saw me on the floor and he thought I was trying to play with him. He wanted to wrestle with mommy. He jumped on my stomach and it took everything I had not to scream out too loud because I did not want to scare him but I jerked when he jumped on me and I can’t even describe what it felt like, lol. I still startled him and he kept patting my shoulder and saying “I sorry mommy, I sorry.” Such a sweet boy. Love him!

  2. gapgrad says:

    I LOVE LEGALLY BLONDE. “I don’t need backups–I’m going to Harvard!”
    I’m sorry you got injured :(…see, exercise is dangerous ;p

  3. Glad you’re feeling better! 🙂 I fully agree that you should definitely listen to your body! I used to workout a lot too (particularly before I got married), and have just started working out again and it’s tough to get back into things. But I only will do as much as my body can handle –that fine line between pushing myself to go the distance (often the point at which you lose those pounds) without kiling myself!! :p

    • I need to work on that fine line! It’s frustrating because I know The Fighter means well and is just trying to push us, but seriously, I’m one of the only few that is not in great shape and there are some things that I really just can’t do like everyone else yet. I feel like I’m always asking for alternative exercises but when you are overweight and have bad knees, jumping, hopping, and flopping exercises aren’t always the best 🙂
      Thanks for stopping by!

  4. Kathy says:

    That’s probably one of the easiest quotes from that movie!! The other would be the BEND AND SNAP!!

Leave a Reply

