I Heart Faces Weekly Challenge “Pet Week” – Dog Days of Summer

I’ve known about Iheartfaces for sometime now but have never participated in any of their photo contests. I’ve thought about entering for sometime now just to get some practice and expose myself to other great photos in the same  category.

This weeks photo challenge: Pet Week

I had several cute photos of Nacho and bugaboo together but I never made the time to edit any of those photos and I only had 30 minutes left to upload a photo before the deadline to enter photos ended. I was getting frustrated because I had just told myself last week that I was going to enter a photo each Monday to challenge myself and expand my photography skills and then I didn’t do it. Thankfully, I read the rules again and you could enter a photo as late as Tuesday at 9pm. Yay! But I still only had 30 minutes to enter.

I quickly went through my photos and came across a photo of Cody, a beautiful German Shepherd. Over the 4th of July we went to Myrtle Beach to visit my sister-in-law and her family as well as Man-Child’s aunt and uncle. I’m not going to go into detail about the trip tonight (future post) except to say that I fell in love with his aunt and uncles dog, Cody.

He was HUGE but so sweet and loving towards everyone. Bugaboo enjoyed Cody the most, especially when he climbed into the kiddie pool with him.

Back to the photo… I was outside in the yard taking photos of the boys and noticed Cody lying on the grass with his stick. He looked like he was posing just for me so I snapped a quick photo.

Here is the final product. I wish I didn’t wait until the last-minute but that seems to be the story of my life. So, I just went with it like usual. Like I’ve said before, time is my enemy not my friend. If I had a little more time, I would have tried to make his eyes brighter and pop out more since they’re so dark, Oh well. Next time.

Hopefully next week I’ll be more prepared for the next photo challenge.

This entry was posted in Photography, Random and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to I Heart Faces Weekly Challenge “Pet Week” – Dog Days of Summer

  1. Keith says:

    Nice photo kate

  2. Britt @ absolutealaia says:

    What a beautiful & happy face x

  3. Barb says:

    Great photo…never give up! Love you!

  4. Dianna says:

    It does appear that he was posing just for you!! I think it’s a great photo, sorry you had to rush to enter it in the contest though!

    • It’s my own fault… and sadly, I did not properly enter my “permalink” of the photo (we had to link the photo back to a site such as flickr or a blog. I linked it to my main page instead of this actual post) so my entry was deleted. Oh well. It’s not like I was in the running or anything, lol.. they had some AMAZING photos… there is always next week!

  5. nipasarker says:

    soooo sweet………………..Adorable….let him be a part of a contest..
    Photo contest for dogs
    Please comecast your daily VOTE for your favorite pooch in our monthly photo contest. We have some pretty cute contestants and they would really appreciate your VOTE of support.”

  6. thegrommom says:

    I love the picture. Gorgeous! Nice work. Keep entering these!

  7. gapgrad says:

    That is a beautiful photo! What a gorgeous dog! My husband wants a German Shepherd real bad…but I say we don’t another child yet 😉

Leave a Reply

