Tackling those Fitness Resolutions

resolutions

Each year, thousands upon thousands make New Year’s resolutions to lose weight and get healthy. Sadly, thousands fail. I’m pretty sure we all know at least 5 people who made those resolutions and weeks or months later, they’ve given up.

We plan, we research what diet plan may be best for us, and then we may join a gym or plan a workout schedule but when push comes to shove, it doesn’t work out.

Why is that?

Why is it so hard to complete a task or goal that we set out to do?

Lack of motivation? Lack of an accountability partner, support system, or cheer team?

Lack of time? Lack of money?

For me, it’s been all the above at one time or another but the list above wasn’t my #1 issue.

I’ve struggled with my weight most of my life but especially after my son was born.

I can’t even recall how many times I started a “diet” or started working out and a few weeks later, I’d be binge eating my favorite chips and sneaking in ice cream after everyone went to sleep. I’d stop working out and my gym memberships would go to waste.

That has been my thing for the past 5 years. Everyone who knows me and loves me even admits it’s true. I have a problem. It’s not because the motivation wasn’t there, trust me, it was! Looking at photos of me and having to buy larger and larger size clothes each time I went clothes shopping was embarrassing and humiliating! I wanted that weight off more than anything! No, I didn’t have a problem getting motivated to get moving… especially when you would hear people talk about your weight and put you down for it… there was more.

Motivation wasn’t my downfall.

I have a great family. My mother, sister, brother, and friends are all so supportive of me and have been for years. They have offered to be accountability partners, workout buddies, and have been my cheer team. But even with all of that, it still was not enough for me to keep going. I’ve also had several workout buddies along the way too at one time or another that we would try to keep things up but I would eventually stop going and make excuses.

The cheer squad wasn’t my downfall.

Time management has never been my friend, and even more so these days, time slips away from me. Having a family, working a full-time job, and keeping up with house and home really wear a person down! I know there are people out there who make it happen and make no excuses. They are up at 4AM and in the gym before 5AM and back home getting kids ready and out the door for work. There are those who make it happen like clockwork every day but I am not one of those people. I’m a horrible planner and trust me, I’ve tried getting up early in the mornings and get a routine going but the struggle is real!! I’m not going to sit here and say I can’t do it, because I know I can and I have before. I’ve made it work (more on that in another post).

No, time management while a struggle wasn’t my downfall.

I am so thankful to work for a company the past several years that will pay gym memberships for their employees. So, so, so very thankful! I don’t have to worry about that. I don’t have the money for a personal trainer and I wish I did more than anything, but you can do things at the gym or at home without a trainer. I have access to a lot of resources via friends, past experiences with a trainer, and Pinterest 😉

A lack of funds really wasn’t my downfall either.

So what was my downfall?

ME!!! MYSELF!!!! And I!!!

I was my own worst enemy. I defeated myself time and time again. I don’t know how many times I put myself down… put myself down for getting to be so overweight in the first place, put myself down for failing, put myself down for not trying hard enough, and put myself down for thinking I could do it in the first place…I didn’t believe in myself. You have to first believe that you can do it, before you can achieve it.

I know it sounds cliché, but Mind over Matter! REALLY!!! Reaching your fitness and health goals is 100% having the right mindset. No, really!! All you health fanatics and experts can say what YOU want but for ME it is 100%mental. Until YOU decide to change, you won’t. No one can make you. Motivation may get you started but when that motivation starts to fade, and you cancel on your friend for 4 days in a row, and you’re paying for a gym that you aren’t using, no cheer squad or person can make you do what you don’t want to do.

Again, only YOU can decide to do it. You have to get in the mindset that you can do this and again, believe YOU CAN!

Then, once you are in the right mindset… all the other factors will start to fall into place.

Here are some of my favorite quotes…

mental mental2 mental3 mental4 mental5 mental6

Second tip on achieving/accomplishing your resolutions… BELIEVE THAT YOU CAN DO IT AND BELIEVE IN YOURSELF…again, in case you didn’t catch it on my earlier  post (and take a few selfies along the way!!)! BECAUSE YOU’RE WORTH IT!!

IMG_2523 This was from last Saturday!

I’ll share my fitness journey over the past year in my next post. This one has been long enough!

Happy Weekend!!

This entry was posted in Healthy Lifestyle Changes, Resolutions and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Tackling those Fitness Resolutions

  1. Pingback: Chore Chart and Weekday Morning Schedule | Broken Resolutions

Leave a Reply

